West Coast RFU – 2015

Acknowledgments to the NZ Rugby Almanack Franchise:

Back to Year by Year Index click here




2015 Status:
Heartland Championship
....Founded 1890..Affiliated 1893
M.W. (Michael) Stuart
C.N (Colin) Smith
Mike Connors
S.J.(Sean) Cuttance
Assistant Coach:
N.J.(Nick) Makea
.Rugby Park, Greymouth
.Red and white hoops. red shorts. red socks with white tops

After six matches in the round robin West Coast had won three and were just two points behind fourth place and in contention for the Meads Cup playoffs. But the last two matches were lost, to also miss out on the Lochore Cup playoffs, in a disappointing finish.

Better goalkicking would have won the opener against North Otago.

The union held its 125th jubilee and celebrated it with the win over Buller. In the forwards, the remarkable number of seven started in all eight matches.

Only the injury to Alan Monk saw Brogan Watt start, and then Isei Lewaqai started when Watt was injured. The loose forwards Dylan Nel and Joshua Hill were consistently prominent, while lock Brad Houston had an outstanding season with his all round play.

The props Lolesio Lavea and Matthew Jeffreys started at loosehead and tighthead respectively and then swapped positions after the second match. Isei Lewaqai arrived from Buller but missed the first half of the campaign due to injury. Assistant coach Nick Makea replaced Frenchman Hugo Torres at halfback halfway through the championship while Nik Cumming replaced Nathan Smith at first five-eighth after the first match. Cumming grew in stature as the season went on and was an accurate goalkicker. His last-minute penalty goal defeated Wairarapa Bush.

The midfield of Andrew Connors and Kevin Moore was steady, but when Moore was injured Regan Stanton moved in from the wing and provided an attacking spark through seeing more ball. West Coast called upon 28 players for the year, with only eight making their debut.

From last year, Rowan O’Gorman, a valuable loan player since 2009, had retired, Tim Priest was at Wairarapa Bush, while Sean McClure, the top try scorer in 2015 club rugby, was in England.


    Position PL
Alan.B.Monk Flanker 7
Andrew.D.Connors Centre, Winger 9
Archie McBride Centre 1
Beau.L.Cain Winger 2
Placeholder Benjamin.A. Campbell No. 8 1
Brad.G.Houston Flanker, Lock 8
Brogan Watt No. 8 8
Placeholder Desmond.C.Spooner Winger 4
Dylan Nel Flanker 9
Francis Auwerda Lock 9
Greg.P.Crampton Prop 2
Placeholder Hugo Torres Scrum Half 9
Placeholder Isei.N.T.Lewaqai Lock, No. 8 5
Jarrod C. Ferguson Scrum Half 4
Placeholder Jason Wright Winger 7
Jesse MacRae Prop 5
Josh.W.J.Costello Fullback 8
Joshua Hill Flanker 8
Kalave Auali'itia Lock 3
Kevin.M.Moore First Five, Winger 7
Logan Winter Flanker 5
Placeholder Lolesio Lavea Prop 9
Maleli Mudu Winger 7
Placeholder Matthew.D.Jefferys Prop 9
Placeholder Nathan.L.Smith Centre, First Five 6
Nick Makea Scrum Half 5
Nik.K.Cumming First Five 9
Peter.E.Te Rakau Winger 1
Regan Stanton Centre 9
Troy Tauwhare Hooker 9

Click the date {eg: 17 May, 2:30pm} for Match details

Click the Opponent {eg: Buller } for full ‘Head 2 Head’ details

Results 2015

Sat 08 Aug 2:30 pm H Seddon Shield Marlborough 19 - 24
Sat 22 Aug 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship North Otago 17 - 16
Sat 29 Aug 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship / Rundle Cup Buller 21 - 07
Sat 05 Sep 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship South Canterbury 40 - 24
Sat 12 Sep 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship Mid Canterbury 26 - 36
Sat 19 Sep 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship Wairarapa Bush 36 - 33
Sat 26 Sep 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship East Coast 10 - 22
Sat 03 Oct 2:30 pm H Heartland Championship King Country 22 - 36
Sat 10 Oct 2:30 pm A Heartland Championship Thames Valley 29 - 17