Latest News

West Coaster’s Selected for NZ Heartland XV

Troy Tauwhare and Tim Priest have been selected for the NZ Heartland XV after some imperious performances throughout the successful West Coast Heartland campaign. The New Zealand Heartland XV will play matches against New Zealand Defence Force in Methven on Tuesday 5 November and New Zealand Marist in Timaru on Saturday 9 November.

West Coast Heartland assistant coach Sean Cuttance was absolutely thrilled with the selections. “This is awesome news for Tim and Troy”. “They have both been in great form for the West Coast all season and I am sure they will represent well in their key positions of 1st five and hooker. We are all stoked for them” Cuttance said.

The side is going to be coached by King Country’s Kurt McQuilkin with Gerard Scott of South Canterbury coming in as Assistant Coach. Coach Kurt McQuilkin said the New Zealand Defence and New Zealand Marist sides would provide stiff opposition.

“Traditionally, both New Zealand Defence and New Zealand Marist have proved tough sides to beat and I’m sure this year’s matches will be no different”.

“This year’s Pink Batts Heartland Championship has been as exciting and competitive as ever, with a large number of players across all teams showing some exceptional form. I’m confident the two games will be exciting encounters for the fans.”

New Zealand Rugby General Manager Community and Provincial Union Rugby Brent Anderson said it was a great to have both games taking place down south.

“I’m sure fans from throughout the region will come out in force for what are always great contests and a fantastic showcase for the stand-out players of the Heartland Championship.”

New Zealand Heartland XV 2013 programme

• NZ Heartland XV v NZ Defence Force, Methven, 5 November, kick-off 2.30pm

• NZ Heartland XV v NZ Marist, Timaru, Saturday 9 November, kick-off 2.30pm

The New Zealand Heartland XV is a selection of the top eligible players from the Pink Batts Heartland Championship. .

New Zealand Heartland XV 2013 Squad

Matt Fetu South Canterbury
Shaun McDonough Wanganui
Ralph Darling North Otago
Troy Tauwhare West Coast
Nathan Tubb South Canterbury
Nick Cranston Wanganui
Eric Duff North Otago
Lachie McFadzean Wairarapa Bush
Lee Nelmes Buller
Jon Dampney Mid Canterbury
Peter Rowe Wanganui
Lasa Ulukuta Wanganui
Riki Waitoa East Coast

William McKenzie Mid Canterbury
Andrew Stephens Buller
Tim Priest West Coast
Glen Walters Wairarapa Bush
Fa’aitu Tuamoheloa South Canterbury
Tau Moeke East Coast
Lemi Masoe North Otago
Dwayne Burrows Mid Canterbury
Whaimotu Craft-Chemis East Coast
Chris Talanoa North Otago
Mike Tambour Horowhenua-Kapiti