Latest News

Rugby Success Celebrated

A highly successful 2013 West Coast Rugby season was celebrated on Saturday night, at the West Coast Rugby awards dinner held at the Paroa Hotel.

Players at both club and representative level were rewarded for their efforts in a season that saw Blaketown who are celebrating their 90th year, winning the Senior club title, and the West Coast Heartland side winning a number of trophies including the prized Seddon Shield and Rundle Cup, and making the Meads Cup Semi Finals for the first time since 2008, whilst winning an impressive seven out of ten games along the way.

In the Senior club rugby awards, Blaketown’s Beau Cain was awarded the Cup for being the top points scorer for the West Coast club season with 179 points, with Kiwi’s Sean McClure taking out the top try scorers Cup with 15 tries, and Wests Darcy Ralph taking out the West Coast club M.V.P Cup in his first year of rugby in New Zealand.

In the Heartland team awards, lineout ace Josh Manning was rewarded for a stand out season by being awarded with the Rookie of the year Cup, with West Coast’s mercurial first five eight Tim Priest being awarded the inaugural John Sturgeon Trophy for Player of the year, after a season which included scoring 95 points in his debut Heartland season, and being selected alongside team mates Troy Tauwhare and Alan Monk in the New Zealand Heartland XV.

A specially framed West Coast shirt was awarded to Alan Monk on reaching the 50 games milestone for the West Coast team, with Sean McClure, Josh Hill, Dave Crouchley and Nik Davy all being awarded tankards for reaching their 25 games during the Heartland campaign.

In the final major award for the night, the Ron King Memorial Cup for outstanding services to West Coast Rugby was awarded to the West Coast Heartland side for their incredible season.


Mark Costello, Allan Lindsay, Sean Cuttance and John Torrance receive the Ron King Memorial Cup.